Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mae Hilty Memorial Library: New Students

Getting started in the TCC Library

Welcome Tri-1 and other incoming students!  The library has a lot to offer you.  Here are some highlights specifically for new students.  We've also included some general information for the period while access to the campus is limited.  Please feel free to contact the library staff if you don't see the information you're looking for.

Databases (and other resources) for your basic science year

The library provides you with free access to subscription and public databases.  Here are some we think will be most useful for your foundational courses.

Anatomy
Anatomy Atlases - a collection of gross plates, cross-sections, and microscopic plates similar to what you would find in an anatomy textbook.  The atlas does not include a zoom feature, so you will need to use your device's zoom capability.

BioDigital Human - a collection of interactive 3D images of the human body.  It will be necessary to register for a free student account to access the images (there is a free demo).

InnerBody - a free tour through all the systems of the human body that allows you to click down to a fine scale.  Good for quick reviews.  Note: this is a commercial website, so the text is intercut with ads.

Instant Anatomy - a collection of notes and diagrams from a surgeon who took up anatomy when he retired.  Good for making flashcards from, or just studying directly on the site.

Master Muscle List - an illustrated list of every muscle with its origin, insertion, action, and nerve.  Great for making your own flashcards.

WebAnatomy - self-quizzes on all aspects of anatomy, at various challenge levels, from the University of Minnesota

Biochemistry
MetaCyc - a synthesis of what is known about metabolic pathways and enzymes in protozoa and metazoa.  Search by enzyme name or pathway name.  Click on any component for further information, including other reactions it is involved in.  It is not necessary to create an account to use this database.

Lower Extremity Biomechanics
NeuroLogic Exam - While the entire website will be useful in your studies, use the Gait Exam section to see quick videos of normal and abnormal lower extremity movements.

Histology/Pathology
PathoPic - an open-source database of pathology specimens.  Search by diagnosis, tissue, body system, or anatomical location.  Note: these images may not be reused without written consent from the image owners.

WebPath: The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education - The Eccles Health Sciences Library at the University of Utah hosts this searchable teaching database of pathology slides and specimens, which includes self-guided quizzes and tutorials.  Note: these images may not be reused without written consent from the image owners.

Microbiology
MicrobeWiki - by students (and their professors) for students.  Read basic info about bacteria and viruses written as part of classroom assignments.  Test-yourself questions are under the Study Microbes tab.

This Week in Microbiology - one of the periodic podcasts from the American Society for Microbiology, it addresses current developments in the field. 

Physiology
Mayo Clinic Diseases and Conditions - health education about common and rare conditions in everyday language

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health -  scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine, from the National Institutes of Health

 

Tips for successful online learning

icon of student rising out of smartphone1. Start your day with your usual routine:  get up, get clean, get dressed, get food, and then go to school.  Your location is different, but your routine doesn't need to change.
2.  Designate a specific area for studying.  If you don't have a desk or coffee table for your laptop, books and notes, then assign a chair or one end of the couch to be your office, and reserve it for that purpose.
3.  Keep track of deadlines.  Download a free blank monthly calendar to type in assignment due dates, exams, and other important notes.  Here are
7 Time Management Tips for Online Students.
man wearing headphones sitting at laptop raising hand4.  Take regular breaks to let what you've learned sink in.  Rest your eyes and brain between study sessions by listening to music or checking in with your family.
5.  While you're studying, turn off the news.  When you're finished, reward yourself by seeing what's happening outside.
6.  If something in your classes is challenging or confusing, ask for clarification.  Regular conversation with your instructors promotes academic success.
FOR MORE TIPS:  
  Online Student's Manual for Success  
AND A TIP ABOUT STRESS:  How stress affects memory

upper image by
Hatice EROL from Pixabay    lower image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Reserve books used in TCC courses

image of a stack of books Because the library will be closed while social distancing is in effect, we have arranged for access to some course textbooks as ebooks.  There is a limit to the number of students who may view an ebook at the same time, so if you are denied access to a particular title, please try again later.

Canvas (our Learning Management System)

image of i-for-information sign
 If you are unfamiliar with Canvas, take a look at the student guide.

Student loans in the time of coronavirus

photo of American dollarsHow does the CARES (Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security) Act affect student loans?  It depends on the type of loan.  Find more info here.

Are you registered to vote in the November election?

red white blue button with the word VOTEWhether you prefer to vote in Texas or in another state, this guide will tell you what you need to know.  Select the state in which you want to vote, and It will show you how to register if you haven't yet, how to request a mail-in ballot if needed or wanted, what your deadlines are, and how to vote in person or return your mail-in ballot.    Image by amberzen from Pixabay

Will you need to register a car/change your driver's license while you're a student?

image of a Texas license plateUnder the March 2020 declaration of a state of disaster in Texas, a temporary waiver of new vehicle registrations and renewals was put into effect because the DMV had to close.  The waiver will end 60 days after the date that TX DMV announces it has resumed registering and titling vehicles.  And here's information about getting a Texas driver's license for new residents.     Image credit: CC-BY-SA 4.0

Animal regulations in Harris County

photo of black puppy with orange kittenFor students bringing a house pet with them to the greater Houston area, here are some regulations you should know about:  The maximum number of adult cats and/or dogs allowed per household is 4 animals.  All cats and dogs older than 3 months of age must be vaccinated against rabies and then licensed by the county health department.  Lower-cost spay and neuter surgery, as well as rabies vaccinations, are available at BARC, Houston's city animal shelter.