Information on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt Health Watch offers full text articles for nearly 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. This is an EBSCOhost resource.
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 530 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, nearly 400 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Biomedical Reference Collection™.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Global Index Medicus provides universal access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this remarkable set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by the WHO Global Library Group on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full-text information.
Some articles are in languages other than English.
This open resource provides a tour through all the systems of the human body. It starts with the major systems, then allows you to click down to a fine scale. Good for quick reviews. Note: this is a commercial website, so the text is intercut with ads.
MedPix® is an open-access online database containing radiology teaching images and is supported by the National Library of Medicine. Search by organ, symptom, diagnosis. Case images allow you to quiz yourself.
This collection of short medical videos is intended for consumers. They are also good for quick reviews of medical disorders and processes. Some of the videos are available in other languages (select from the dropdown menu in the upper right corner of the landing page.
This resource contains a synthesis of what is known about metabolic pathways and enzymes in protozoa and metazoa. Search by enzyme name or pathway name. Click on any component for further information, including other reactions it is involved in. It is not necessary to create an account to use MetaCyc.
Basic information about bacteria and virus that was written as part of classroom assignments at Kenyon College and curated by their microbiologists. By students for students! Test-yourself questions are provided under the Study Microbes tab.
Short videos and brief text passages describe how to do a neurological assessment. This website was created by the author of, and accompanies, Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases, the textbook for our Clinical Neurology course.
A database of clinical images showing the effects of viruses and bacteria on the body (some images are graphic and may be distressing). Presented as case histories with accompanying images, followed by a quiz about diagnosis and the case outcome. Note: requires creation of an account (free) for access.
PathoPic is a Public access image database providing images of high quality for use in medical education and public health information. Each image has an unique identification number and is classified according to its topography, diagnosis, stain, etc. Additional information is supplied in terms of a short description and clinical data if available. The images and their metadata provided in this site are not intended for the diagnosis of specific patients. Consequently, the information contained in this web site should not be used as a substitute for the medical care and advice of your health care provider. Educational institutions may reproduce the images free of charge and without prior approval for lectures, only if the database logo is clearly shown on the image. Other uses only with written consent of the database owners.
The WebPath® educational resource contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and self-directed study there are over 1300 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas. These computer-aided instructional materials support educational programs in the health sciences. The images may not be reused without prior written permission.